Emerging Rail Specialist Award

The Emerging Rail Specialist Award is sponsored by the RTAA to promote excellence in the Australian rail community and recognise the achievements of young, outstanding individuals.

The award is aimed at all young rail specialists, not just young engineers.

What’s at stake?

Winners receive up to $10K to attend an international rail or transport conference of their choice.

The Emerging Rail Specialist Award is open to individuals who are:

  • Either employees of current Corporate RTAA members, or are a Personal RTAA member
  • Have between 1 and 12 years (Full Time Equivalent) rail experience as at 1 January 2020
  • Have a minimum of 3 years (Full Time Equivalent - post High School) relevant work experience
  • Can demonstrate their key involvement in the rail industry locally or internationally
  • Are Australian or New Zealand citizens and/or permanent residents
  • The winner is announced at the Australasian Rail Industry Awards


Who was Frank Franklyn?

Francis Gustave Franklyn was born in Lismore in 1911. He began his career in the railways as a cadet draftsman and, over a career spanning 47 years, he was promoted to the role of General Manager, Way and Works Branch, Public Transport Commission of NSW. This role has more recently been known as the Chief Civil Engineer.

In 1979 he was elected as Vice President of the Rail Track Association, a position he held until 1987. He continued to attend meetings until 1990, when he officially retired from the Association. He was awarded Honorary Life Member of the RTAA, and remained very active in the organisation until 2007. He passed away in September 2008.

Frank earned the respect and admiration of others for his leadership skills, knowledge of the industry, courage and determination. In his memory, the RTAA established the Young Rail Track Specialist Award in 2008.

To see the previous winners click here