Back to list

2019 Frank Franklyn Award Winner

Thursday 26, Mar 2020

We received a strong contingent of nominations for this years 2019 Frank Franklyn Young Rail Specialist Award, with Simon Lehman of John Holland being announced as this years winner for his contribution to the development of the Essential Services Distribution System (ESDS) for the Mernda Rail Extension Project (MREP's).  MREP’s ESDS is the first system to not only provide reliable power for the Signalling System but extend this reliability to other critical railway services at stations and along the corridor.  Congratulations Simon!

Congratulations also goes to Brooke Shaw of Roy Hill as runner up for her Application of Quantitative Risk Assessments (QRAs) to inherently improve the safety of rail personnel and community at Roy Hill and Cong Qiu who received a Highly Commended Award for his Railway Research and Engineering Projects Technician paper.