Back to list

Welcome from President

Wednesday 10, Jan 2018

It is an honour to be addressing you and representing the RTAA as your new president. David Bainbridge has been an outstanding and influential President over the past 7 years. David’s legacy has put us in great stead for the future and he will remain a valuable member contributing to the RTAA management committee.

It was an eventful week for the RTAA in Brisbane at AusRail Plus 2017 where we elected our new Office Bearers, participated in our highly acclaimed Yellow Tie Dinner, launched our Women in Rail Publication and coordinated an extensive suite of presentations at the RTAA Technical Stream.

There was only 1 vote difference that decided the result of the Presidential election. We would like to praise Jonathan Barnes for his hard work throughout the year and for being a competitive candidate for the Presidentship. We congratulate Jonathan on being re-elected as Vice President. The RTAA also congratulates Christina Young who is our first female Vice President since the RTAA was established 44 years ago. We would also like to welcome 6 new members on the RTAA management committee: Abbie Thomas, Annabelle Webb, Jarrod Wakefield, Nicola Chung, Orla O’Sullivan and Sanjee Sathianandan. I look forward to working with you all in the coming year.