Back to list

Australasian Rail Industry Awards 2020 Winners

Sunday 25, Oct 2020

This year's Australasian Rail Industry Virtual Awards Presentation were held on the Thursday 15 October 2020.

Proceeds from the Australasian Rail Industry Awards go towards the TrackSAFE Foundation, a registered Harm Prevention Charity established by the industry to endeavour to reduce near collisions, injuries and fatalities on the rail network resulting from suicide and reckless behaviour.

The RTAA is proud to sponsor the Emerging Rail Specialist Award.

2020 Emerging Rail Specialist Award winner – Jerome Pun

Jerome is an emerging specialist in a complex technical area where there are only a few experts in the world. At Monash University, Jerome is currently investigating the use of harder steels to combat high levels of wear experienced from heavy axle loads. His work is delivering tangible benefits to the rail industry and is supporting the Monash Institute of Railway Technology’s leading research program.

On behalf of all of us at the RTAA we thank all of the nominees for 2020

2020 Emerging Rail Specialists Finalists were:

  • Jonathan Mendes, Bombardier Transportation
  • Jerome Pun, Monash Institute of Railway Technology (IRT)
  • Nathan Atkins, Rio Tinto
  • Opinderjit Samra, Arup
  • Sean O’Halloran, MTM

To see a full list of all the other award winners click below 

Click here to see the winners